buying first mill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• buying first mill

Hi, I've been lurking (and searching) here for quite a while. My home gunsmithing has reached the point where a small milling machine is needed.

Since my day job and the distance to the nearest votech school are incompatible, this is going to be a self-taught process. I've been reading Machine Shop Practice Volumes 1&2 to see what I'm in for.

Constraints: Due to zoning, power, and floor strength issues, a 2000lb. machine is not possible. I mostly work on pistols, but will be doing some rifle receiver work in the future. So big capacity would be nice, but small precise work is the majority of what it must do.

Based on searches here, it looks like a Prazi F1210 with ball screws will be a machine that will do what I need for the foreseeable future, and easily converted to CNC. I prefer high quality tools, and have been saving up for this purchase.

I'm willing to pay the price, but is there some other solution I should be considering? I'd rather not recondition an old machine if I don't have to. Is the MT2 spindle a major drawback? I think I read somewhere that R8 is a USA-only spindle.

Also, I'm starting with only some mics and verniers. Any advice on a shopping list for books, vices, collets, mill bits, dial indicators, measuring tables, etc. would be greatly appreciated. I have a 'connection' into McMaster-Carr, and have ordered from MSC, so I'm aware of those two sources.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Don't worry about Morse #2. You can get everything you need from MSC, Travers, or whoever. "Everything" will be maybe 4 collets, a drill chuck with a 1/2" straight shank to hold in your 1/2" collet, and maybe a 2" dia. boring head with a Morse #2 shank. (Do NOT get the boring head with a straight shank.) You can get Morse #2 end mill holders, if you want, but I'd just use collets.