New guy with some Boss 5 Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy with some Boss 5 Questions

First off, hello to all. I've been lurking here a few monthes and really like the site. I finally got off my butt and signed up.

Anyway I recently decided I wanted to manufacture some parts for myself and some friends and wanted a CNC mill to do it as opposed to my manual BP so I bought this mill locally.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=3845040796

I'm picking it up next week and will install it at my business. The machine has a tape emulator for PC control. I'm totally new to CNC and I imagine the learning curve is a bit steep but I'd like options on what to do with the machine. I've been reading past posts here about what guys like John Stevenson and IbewGypsie have done with their Boss machines. Would it be very difficult for me to install Gecko or Larken drives? Should I use the machine as is for awhile? Anything you might want to tell a newbie about CNC? Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. My ideal would be complete PC control somehow translating SolidWorks files to the mill. I have a general understanding of electronics and I'm pretty handy with computers (I build servers for fun). Thanks in advance for any help.

-Christian

WOW, a wall mounted mill sorry, couldn't resist.

I'll leave it to someone who knows what their talking about to answer your questions, but welcome to the nut house.

Dave

Comment

That's a beauty! I think you got a great deal if it isn't too far from you. The best part is that you know it is a functioning machine so you should be able to put it to work right away.

I bought one just like that for only $100 less than yours but mine didn't have manuals, and hadn't been run in years. There were other technical hurdles to overcome, and that process gave me some familiarity with its inner workings. Also mine has the Kwik-Switch tool holders that are pretty pricey.