Parallel Holders

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parallel Holders

I would like to make a set of holders to keep the parallels against the vise jaws. I have attached a link to ones that MSC sells, but I'm a bit too stubborn to pay $35.00 for something I can probably make from the scrap pile. Anyone made their own, and have any pointers on where and how to place the springs. Thanks.

http://www1.mscdirect.com/CGI/NNSRIT?PMAKA=91922336
    Arbo & Thor (The Junkyard Dog)

Arbo,

I've just used coil springs a number of times. Luckily, I worked in a shop that used alot of springs so I was able to "liberate" a few from the box of forgotten trial pieces. I've also used banding iron bent into a "V" shape, but that hasn't worked too well.

I've used the ones you have linked and they work pretty well. I never gave much thought to making a set, but they shouldn't be bad. I'm thinking that they use extension springs inside the sleeves because they close all the way to zero. You can get telescoping tubing from the local hobbyshop. There's probably a slot in the inside tube where the spring attaches to the outside tube. I never took it apart.

AP
    Clausing 10x24, Sheldon 12" shaper, Clausing 8520 mill, Diacro 24" shear, Reed Prentice 14" x 34"

Comment

I just shove a piece of Styrofoam between them.
      Tom M.

Comment

I use rubber bands at work , they work great and dont get in the way

Comment

Picking up on Andy's idea with the strapping material, maybe a diamond shape (2-"V's") might do the job well enough.

John

Comment

I have used rubber bands, now I am think about trying some of these suggestions.

Thanks to all,

Jerry

Comment

I just stick the parallels to the vise jaws with a drop of cutting oil.

Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware - Tools for People Who Build Things
              http://www.geocities.com/mklotz.geo
              Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware - Tools for People Who Build Things