please help selecting new CNC...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• please help selecting new CNC...

I'm coming into about 25,000 and I need to find a good CNC milling center. I have little knowledge on CNC's but good abilities with CAD and Verticle Mills.

Can someone point me to a place where I can buy a good one and won't be charged an arm and a leg?

Also pointers on good brand.

Thanks much,

Devin

I keep hearing the name Haas getting thrown around alot, check out the Haas mini mill. But again, I think it costs more than your 25k

Comment

You need more cash for new.

Comment

I would love to buy used. Also what software for CAM?

Comment

Haas is real good, but for general all around work, maybe think along the lines of a prototrack. What sizes are you looking for, this is a major question in this equation. If small, I have several great ideas for 25K that will blow you away.

What type of work as well. If just general 2-D stuff, prototrack is great, and easy. If you wish 3_D molds and such, then the equation gets tougher. Then money and desired size work in heavily.

I try to suggt CNC machines that work on FANUC type of codes, have good options in canned drilling cycles, cutter compensation, tool height and radius offsets, sub routining, and lots of other things that make programming easier and more versatile.

I hopeto check in again. Let us know.

CCBW, MAH

Comment

I machine at max 6x6x6 parts in any configuration. 3D definately. I make computer cooling products. Alum and copper are the metals I use as well.

Thanks for your help, I've heard alot about fanuc.

Comment

This is the unit they have at our local college. It's a great little machine and does anything they want it to. http://www.haascnc.com/products/defa...id=39&tstr=VMC

I think it cost them about $45,000 CDN. 2 years ago.

As for software, Autocad, Solidworks and MasterCam are some good ones.

Comment

I like the haas machines and that's nice.

I'll look into mastercam.