Harbor Freight MIGs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Harbor Freight MIGs?

My cousin would like a cheap MIG, was thinking of HF. That's OK as far as it goes, but they have several models. Which one? Does flux core wire work OK? Should he go for a machine that can use gas if he wanted to?

My own MIG is a big Lincoln 480-volt job with a Miller wire feeder, I have no experience with this low end stuff.

I think his needs will be very light, no heavy fab work; he does have a stick machine.

TIA: <<Jim>>

I've used a HF flux core welder. I bought it just to find out if I had any aptitude for welding.

Like all other cheap welders, they have limits. They work OK within those limits if you use them as a professional would. Prep is essential to get much out of them. Cleaning, beveling, fitting and pre-heat a 1/4 inch plate just like you would with a 3 inch slab when using your big Lincoln.

The down side to the HF welders is the cheap ones have very few settings. The 120 volt machines have a limited duty cycle and limited output. The more expensive inverter machines have better controls but still run a 30% duty cycle at 90 amps. It's even less at higher amps. To get more than 90 amps will take a 20 amp circuit because it will pull up to 25 amps.

For small stuff, he would do OK with one of the newer inverter based models if you help him learn to use it right. I found that I could use the 90 amp flux core to weld badly. I gave it away and bought a Lincoln SP-100 which I still use from time to time.

Dan
    Last edited by danlb; 12-01-2019, 08:13 PM.
    At the end of the project, there is a profound difference between spare parts and extra parts.

Comment

If the SP-100 worked better, the HF must be nasty.

The Lincoln claims a 20% duty, and means it. I've used one, worked OK on 1/8" x 1 1/2" square tube, but much above that and you would need a preheat torch to get anything done.

Keep eye on ball.
      Hashim Khan

Comment