Which Inexpensive Plasma Cutter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Inexpensive Plasma Cutter?

I am a home welder, who works medium size projects. My current beginning project is a front end loader on a small tractor. Mostly to cut 3/16 and 1/4 inch mild steel, with some small pieces of 3/8.I don't need an industrial grade plasma cutter, or a CNC certified cutter. An El Cheapo Chinese cutter will do fine. Of course, if all the cheap ones are evil junk, I'll stay with my cutting torch.

In evaluating cheap ($160 - $200) plasma cutters, what do I look for? What would cause one to stand out from another?

Due to the "brushing"* scam, one can no longer trust "customer ratings" on the vendor sites.

*"brushing" A vendor steals a few identities, and sends a product, unsolicited, to members of the buying service. The buyer's card gets charged for it, sometimes. The vendor then writes a glowing review, in the "buyer's" userid, and posts it. Readers will see "verified purchaser" next to the review, and so believe it's good. If the "buyer's" credit card is charged, the money is irretrievably gone, as it was bought under the buyer's userid. The credit company will deny the contest claim.

I bought a Herocut Cut55 from amazon a couple years ago and am pretty happy with it. My decision was based on the torch design. I wanted a pilot arc start not high frequency start, as I wanted the option to build a CNC table at some point in the future (it has a CNC port also). The dual voltage option was also pretty nice, and not something often found on other cheap models. I use it on 240v at home, but have taken it to work a couple times and run it off 120v. It's easier for me to get full sheets delivered to work, and chop them up to bring home, so that was a big plus.