Acetylene Level

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Acetylene Level

My acetylene appears to be running low. I seem to remember that you cannot use it all. What is the level I should stop at?

Thanks,
    Jack

Jack,
    We use it until it stops. I am getting every pennys worth out of the bottle
    Bill Koustenis
    Advanced Automotive Machine
    Waldorf Md
    www.enginerepairshop.com

Comment

When you start having problems, maintaining the flame at the level you want with out constant adjusting. I learned in the olden times late 60's about 50 psig we were taught to shut it off.
      But I have since been told that had more to do with the filler type and the ease that the acetone would carry over. Now with the new non asbestos/cement filler mix. It is some form of monolithic block of stuff, the acetone doesn't carry over like it did.
      As with everything your mileage may vary.
      Glen
      Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
      I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
      All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

Comment

Asbestos has not been used in an acetylene cylinder since the 30's. Not saying that some are not still around but doubtful you have it. It was used by one company for a period of about five years. The Compresed Gas Association has thoroughly researched and documented what cylinder manufacturer placed what fill into a cylinder and during what time period.

I would change it at double your regulated pressure setting, ie if you are flowing 8 psi change it out at 16. For industrial purposes I would change at 50.

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=34197

P/R

Comment