I need help with MIG spool gun settings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need help with MIG spool gun settings

I wish I was a better welder, but I only do it occasionally on just a few pieces. I've never taken a class, and never get to weld all day and really get some chops. I have a Ready-Welder spool gun hooked up to an AC-DC Hobart buzz box, and I need to weld a frame of 1x1x0.062 tube. I can't seem to get settings that work other than stitch, and I get burn throughs. I recall before I got the box and used 12v batteries I could do better but I don't know why.

So my last piece was at 120v + dc, 0.035 wire, C25 gas. I tried 0.030, but it seemed worse. I don't know the feed rate, it's not calibrated. Anybody got thoughts, or am I doing as well as can be expected on such thin stuff and just need more practice and a better touch?

I'm probably even more of a novice than you, but my impression was that for something as light as 0.062 you want thinner wire - 0.024 or so. For settings I could only look up what the recommendations are - no personal experience with anything that light. Hopefully one of the pros will chime in.
    "A machinist's (WHAP!) best friend (WHAP! WHAP!) is his hammer. (WHAP!)" - Fred Tanner, foreman, Lunenburg Foundry and Engineering machine shop, circa 1979

Comment

First your welder is CC not CV so that is going to be your first problem, batteries are going to act like a CV source.

Like Mickey says, try .024.

Comment

Thanks for the replies. I dove in last night and got the job done with only a few burn throughs on 48 welds. But it definitely could be better. I guess I need to do more homework. 1/8" aluminum part of the job today, but I've got that under better control. Usually....

Comment

Originally posted by macona View Post
          First your welder is CC not CV so that is going to be your first problem, batteries are going to act like a CV source.
          Ding ding ding we have a winner...