Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

newbie question about best practice / proper care of angle plates, parralles etc.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie question about best practice / proper care of angle plates, parralles etc.

Hi,

This is my first time on this forum, I found this forum looking for an alternative to practicalmachinist.com and all the notoriety of that wealth of information. I hope this is a welcome place for such a basic question! haha

I have just purchased my very fist 'proper' machinist inspection/ measuring equipment. surface plate, surface gauge, angle plate, parallels etc and I was wondering about what is considered best practice regarding the angle plate and other blocks like this. When they arrive they come covered in grease and wrapped in some protective material. I am wondering simple things like, Is it best practice to re-apply the grease between uses, Is this just how they are stored after manufacture. what are peoples routines regarding the use and storage of these items?

So I washed my new blocks with IPA and a kitchen towel (should this be lint-free-special so as non-abrasive?) I gave them a quick spray of WD40 (this is all I had to hand with no silicone etc) when I finished using them for the first time.

I guess I am wondering both what is considered best practice and then what people actually do.

This may sound obvious to some but there is literally nobody I know in person who has ever seen a surface plate or touched a 123 block. Everything I know is from youtube a la Mr Gotteswinter, Renzetti, Lipton and dipping into the Machinery's Handbook. But this basic thing I can't seem to find clear information on

Cheers!
    Ash

Welcome to the forum. If you don't get much response here you may try posting in the general forum. This forum doesn't get many eyes on it these days.