Opinions on a starter lathe/mill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on a starter lathe/mill

Hi I am looking to buy a lathe/mill combo for home/light duty commercial use (20-50 parts a month?). I am new to machining and am not sure what I will need.

I plan on making small parts, 2-3â€‌ diameter 8-10â€‌ long most things should be smaller than that. The main part I am thinking about is .75 x 4.5â€‌

Precision need to be in the thousandths.

Standard 110v is pretty much a must.

Primary material will most likely be Aluminum, Nylatron, Delrin, possible SS.

Cost is an issue however I have read about mini-lathes wearing out in as short as a couple of months. I don’t want something I will have to replace too soon.

I cam across the Shop Fox M1017 @ $3000 its about the most I would want to spend.

The Emco Maier compact 5 seems pretty nice?

What do you guys think of the mini-combos.

What would you buy if you had

$500

$500-$1000
    $1000-$3000?

Thanks for your help.

-j

-j The folks here will tell you to buy good used American tools, and probably advise against combination machines. They're probably right if you have room and can take the time to search out good used machines.

That said, I bought a JET 9x20 lathe and a Rong Fu mill/drill and have been very satisfied with them. But I'm not building things for sale! The bill was a bit under $3k.

Comment

My impression is that the Emco Maier stuff is pretty good. I don't think you'd go too far wrong with that.
      ----------
      Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
      Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
      Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
      There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
      Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
      Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment